The Valley of La Orotava is a wine area with designation of origin since 1995, and it includes the municipalities of La Orotava, Los Realejos and Puerto de la Cruz. Geographically, is a steep slope, with 400 hectares of cultivated vineyards that extend from the feet of Teide, to the sea.
AREA: 680 Ha.


The vineyards of the Valle de la Orotava are between 400 and 800 m. They are known as mediocre, soils are red, loose, light, permeable, rich in mineral nutrients, with a slightly acidic, fertile pH and volcanic origin.
These soils are found on slopes and troughs and the vines are in parrales at 60 cm. Of the ground, in the form of original braided multiple strands, with a length of 3 to 4 m.


The climate of the region of La Orotava falls within the characteristics of the general atmospheric dynamics of the Canarian climate and, in particular, the windward slopes of the western islands.

The Orotava Region is one of the richest in water in the Archipelago. It was one of the first zones where they began to excavate galleries in search of water resources for some irrigated crops in expansion. The water requirement of the banana plantations and, above all, the tourist activity, has led to the development of a series of rafts and reservoirs to supply the Shire. Important are the Balsa de la Cruz Santa and the Barranco de Benijos.



Authorized: Bastardo Negro, Moscatel Negra, Tintilla, Vijariego Negra.
Preferred: Listán Negro, Malvasía Rosada, Negramoll.


Authorized: Bastardo Blanco, Forastera Blanca, Listán Blanco, Marmajuelo, Moscatel, Pedro Jiménez, Torrontés.
Preferred: Gual, Malvasía, Verdello, Vijariego.

Production zones

It is located in the Valle de la Orotava, from which it takes its name. It is not really a valley, but a tectonic pit. It is a sloping slope, of slope not pronounced, being the vineyard between 400 and 800 m. And occupies the municipalities of the Orotava, Los Realejos and Puerto de la Cruz.

DO Valle de la Orotava


The D.O of the Valle de la Orotava, to the north of the island of Tenerife, is made up of the municipalities of La Orotava, Los Realejos and Puerto de la Cruz. Within its zone of influence is almost all the extension of the Natural Park of the Forest Crown that surrounds the National Park of the Teide, that in turn contains the National Monument of the Teide that with 3,718 m. Is the highest part of the mountain. The Forest Crown is considered the lung of the island of Tenerife.

Wine cellars

Bodega la Haya

Bod. Suertes del Marqués

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

Aviso de cookies

Debes tener 18 años para poder acceder al Site.

Por favor, verifica tu edad

- -