Tenerife Wine

Production zones

Given the varied climatic, natural and cultural practices that exist in Tenerife there are five DO (Designation of Origin), which correspond to as many geographical wine regions.

Tacoronte-Acentejo was the first DO created in Tenerife,back in 1992. The region is located in the northeast of the island, and includes the municipalities of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, San Cristóbal de La Laguna, El Rosario , Tegueste, Tacoronte, El Sauzal, La Matanza de Acentejo, La Victoria de Acentejo, Santa Úrsula and the Anaga subzone. Tacoronte-Acentejo in, undoubtedly the most densely cultivated area of vineyards in the Canary Islands. Usually, the vine is planted in terraces on steep slopes facing north towards the Atlantic Ocean. The soil in this region is clayey, rich and fertile.

In 1994, Ycoden Daute Isora DO is created , in order to cover the vast region at the northwest of Tenerife, being a transition zone between the North and South of the island. San Juan de la Rambla, La Guancha, Icod de los Vinos, Garachico, El Tanque, Los Silos, Buenavista del Norte, Santiago del Teide and Guía de Isora are the municipalities that form this DO. The vineyards are planted over ash and badlands soils.  The cultivated plots are small and steep therefore most of the work is done by hand.

DO Valle de La Orotava was also born in 1994.  Constituted by La Orotava, Los Realejos and Puerto de la Cruz, in the North of Tenerife. In this wine region soils are light, permeable, rich in both minerals and slightly acidic. Wine growers have practiced, for several generations, a system of their own to grow the vines: el cordon trenzado (the braided cord), which is a multiple cordon with a number of the vine’s branches braided together, which can reach up to 15 metres.

In the following year, 1995, DO Valle de Güímar was created . Located in the southeast of the island, includes the municipalities of Arafo, Candelaria and Güímar. Its vineyard extends from near the coast to altitudes close to 1,500 meters. Volcanic soils and the predominance of the trade winds mark the distinctive essence of these wines.

In May 1995, the creation of DO Abona was approved, it includes the municipalities of Adeje, Arona, Vilaflor, San Miguel de Abona, Granadilla, Arico and Fasnia, in the South of the island. The vineyards of this region are cultivated mainly in white volcanic ash (known as jable) that produce very aromatic wines and of great nature.

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

Aviso de cookies

Debes tener 18 años para poder acceder al Site.

Por favor, verifica tu edad

- -